Books

These broadly adapted retellings add a lot of fun and fighting to the basic bones of the classic tales! – A Parent’s Guide To The Best Kids Comics

Inspired by the epic poem BEOWULF, the Kid Beowulf series follows the adventures of 12-year-old twin brothers Beowulf and Grendel, as they travel to distant lands and meet fellow epic heroes therein!

Kid Beowulf is similar to BONE, Asterix, and Avatar: The Last Airbender.

Suitable for Grades 6 & up.

BBO_AMPCVR_SMALLBook 1 Kid Beowulf: The Blood-Bound Oath

This is the origin story of twin brothers Beowulf and Grendel, separated at birth and reunited by an extraordinary family: their grandfather, the imperious King Hrothgar; their monstrous (but loving) mother, Gertrude; their fire-ghost of a father, and their other grandfather – the towering, one-eyed Dragon whose bloodline links them all in their ancient home of Daneland. Oh yeah, there’s also a pig and a talking sword! The series begins here as Beowulf and Grendel discover their past and their destiny.

$12.99, Full Color, 240pgs, ISBN 978-1449475895

SOR_AMP_FRONTCVR_SMALLBook 2 Kid Beowulf : The Song of Roland

Beowulf and Grendel are banished from their homeland and seek refuge with their Uncle Holger in far off France but the kingdom is in shambles: King Charlemagne is ailing, his knights are exiled, and France’s hero, Roland, needs a kick in the pants! It’s up to Beowulf and Grendel to unite the country before it’s taken over by an invading Saracen horde!

$12.99, Full Color, 276pgs, ISBN 978-1449475901

 

CIDCVR Book 3 Kid Beowulf and the Rise of El Cid

Beowulf and Grendel are in war-torn Spain, where honor is hard-fought, allegiances are dubious, and the bulls run wild. Amidst it all comes a young knight named Rodrigo, who fights for the name he’s lost, the land he loves, and the virtue they’ve both forgotten!

$12.00, BW, 240pgs, ISBN 978-0974600062

Buy Signed & Sketched Edition from Kid Beowulf Comics at AMAZON

 

TheKidBeowulfReader_SMALL

The Kid Beowulf Reader

Part classroom guide and part historiography, The Kid Beowulf Reader is over 200 pages of full-color fun and insight into the creation of the first trilogy.  Featuring in-depth character dossiers, behind-the-scenes process pages, and exclusive artwork this book perfect for fans who want to peek behind the curtain!  The Kid Beowulf Reader also features lesson plans and discussion questions for the teachers using Kid Beowulf in class.  Developed by education expert Dr. Katie Monnin and aligned to the new Common Core Standards, this guide is sure to become an invaluable resource for teachers, librarians and fans alike!

$12.00, BW, 240pgs, ISBN 978-0974600048

Available on AMAZONCREATESPACE

 

SHILD_CVR_SMALL2Kid Beowulf Eddas: Shild and the Dragon (short story)

Before Beowulf and Grendel there was Shild and the Dragon! In this stand-alone story Beowulf’s great-grandfather Shild encounters the Dragon in the wilds of Daneland and learns about a world filled with monsters, slayers, and his special place in it…and Shild is in for the fight of his life!  “Shild and the Dragon” is the first story in a new series of Kid Beowulf Eddas – stories exploring the rich world of characters from Kid Beowulf.

$9.50, Full Color, 40pgs. ISBN 978-0-9909505-0-9 Available on CREATESPACE & AMAZON

 

 

Kid Beowulf Eddas: Paladins Tale (short story)

When the Franks are ambushed by the Saracens deep in the Pyrenees mountains, King Charlemagne’s elite knights, the Peers, are accused of high treason. Betrayed, framed, and locked away, the king’s men escape to fight another day! Paladin’s Tale is an untold tale from pages of Kid Beowulf: The Song of Roland, the second graphic novel in the Kid Beowulf series! Ideal for fans of Bone, Asterix, and Amulet. A bonus Kid Beowulf story, “Lookin’ for Lingonberries,” is included in this issue!

$14.95, Full Color, 70pgs. ISBN 978-0-9909505-1-6  CREATESPACE & AMAZON